The CHL will be well representative in the state swimmings finals Friday.  Here are the swimmers who made top 8 in prelims with their seed in the finals:
200 Medley Relay - 4. Mariemont
200 Freestyle - 2. Cora Dupre (Mariemont)
100 Freestyle - 1. Cora Dupre 49.14, Emma Fortman (Madeira)
200 Freestyle Relay - 3. Mariemont
100 Backstroke - 3. Emma Fortman
200 Medley Relay - 6. Mariemont
200 Freestyle - 4. Will Taylor (Indian Hill)
200 IM - 3. Ian Mikesell (mariemont)
100 Freestyle - 7. Devin Edwards (Indian Hill)
500 Freestyle - 4. Will Taylor
200 Freestyle Relay - 3. Indian Hill. 5. Mariemont
100 Backstroke - 6. Jackson Comer (Mariemont), 7. Nick Bulas (Indian Hill)
100 Breaststroke - 2. Ian Mikesell
400 Relay - 5. Indian Hill
Finals will start at 5:00 Friday

Congratulations to Chelsea Hammer of Deer Park is making her first trip to the state bowling championships.

Boys' wrestling sectionals will be Friday & Saturday at Batavia & Blanchester High Schools.

Indian Hill girls' basketball will meet Roger Bacon Monday in the D2 sectional finals.

Boys' basketball sectionals will start this weekend.

The CHL is becoming a "hot bed" for divers.  For the 3rd year in a row, a league diver has won the boys' Division II state title. And, a freshman had a podium finish.

In 2017 & 2018, Noah Vigran of Indian Hill won the state title in D2 diving. in 2018, he set the state Division II record in points. Last year, Ilya Gerasimchuk of Wyoming was runner up.  Now that Vigran has graduated, Gerasimchuk, a senior, came into the state championships this year seeded #1. Gerasimchuk and #2 seed Spencer Bystrom of Beachwood kept it close throughout the competition.  Each athlete has 11 dives.  Going into the 11th dive, Ilya was 2nd behind Bystrom.  He won the state title on the last dive edging Bystrom 452.90 to 451.20.  Nathan Cox of Mariemont just missed getting on the podium.  The sophomore had 367.50 points only .5 behind 8th place.  Two other league divers made the final cut of 16.  Sophomore Pavel Gerasimchuk was 14th & senior Jacob Cox was 16th.

Freshman Grace Courtney of Wyoming capped off a great first varsity season finishing 4th with 421.25 points.  Two seniors and sophomore finished ahead of her.  Seniors Kyleigh Spang (Mariemont), Lexi Magenheim (Indian Hill), & Adrienne Storer (Wyoming) finished 21st, 22nd, & 24th.

Congratulations to the eight league divers and their coaches for a great season!

Deer Park senior Chelsea Hammer will be making a trip to the state bowling championships.  Hammer finished 7th at the Division II District Championships in Beavercreek.  Her three game series was a 587, including a 224 game.  She was one the four individual state qualifiers.  Deer Park girls finished 12th & Reading girls 16th.  Freshman Ella Harvey was the top bowler for Taylor.  Sophomore Caitlyn Sullivan was the top bowler for Reading.  
Four individual boys from the league were at the district championships.  Junior Eric Hamilton of Deer Park was 10th with 636 series.  He missed from being one of the three state qualifiers by 7 pins.  Senior Austin Harvey of Taylor was 11th with a 633, missing by 10 pins.  Sophomore Brayden Godbey was the top bowler for Reading & senior Luke Henke was the top bowler for Wyoming.

The Division II State Championships will be Friday & Saturday, March 1st & 2nd at Wayne Webb's Columbus Bowl.

Three league schools are Division II & five are Division III.

Division II
Sectional games will be played at Walnut Hills High School.
Indian Hill edged Norwood 40-36.  This sets up a sectional final game between the #2 Braves and #1 Roger Bacon on Monday at 7:30.

Division III
Willmington Section 1
Mariemont lost to Summit Country Day 35-25.  Number 3 Deer Park was upset by #6 Bethel-Tate  44-40.

We are now getting more active stories than can be viewed on the website front page.  Be sure to check the stories below the five that can be seen.

The swimmers and divers are in Canton for the state championships this week. A total of 42 from 4 schools are making the trip. We have some league athletes that are coming into meet seeded #1 in their event.  Ilya Gerasimchuk of Wyoming is #1 in boys' Division II diving.  Gerasimchuk was runner up to Indian Hill's Noah Vigran last year. Cora Dupre of Mariemont is the defending state champ in the 100 Freestyle.  She is the #1 seed this year.  Dupre is also the #1 seed in the 200 Freestyle.  Her time of 1:46.48 is almost 3 1/2 seconds better than the 2nd seed.  Cora was the 2017 200 Freestyle state champ.  She also won the 50 Freestyle last year.  Ian Mikesell of Mariemont is the #2 seed in the 100 Breaststroke.  Emma Fortman is the only girl swimmer from Madeira at the state meet but she is the #3 seed in the 100 Freestyle & #4 seed in the 100 Backstroke.  Will Taylor of Indian Hill is the #4 seed in the 200 Freestyle.  The divers will be in action on Wednesday.  Swimming prelims will be on Thursday.

Bowling districts are Thursday in Beavercreek.  Two teams and six individuals from the CHL will be competing to get to the state championships.

Girls' basketball had a tough first week.  Only three teams are playing in week two.  Indian Hill had a close win over Norwood Tuesday to set up a sectional final in Division II between #1 Roger Bacon & # 2 Indian Hill next Monday.  Deer Park & Mariemont will be playing Wednesday in Wilmington in the Division III sectional.

Boys' basketball will start sectional play later in the week.

The wrestling sectionals will be on Friday & Saturday.  Division II will be at Batavia High School with Indian Hill, Taylor, & Wyoming competing.  Division III will be at Blanchester High School with Deer Park, Madeira, Mariemont, & Reading competing.  The top four in each weight class advance to the district tournament.  John Mark Williams of Indian Hill will be trying for his 2nd trip to state where he finished on the podium last year.

All league are now posted for swimming/diving & wrestling, along with the league results from both sports.  The All Trophy has been updated through two seasons.  Wyoming still has a double digit lead over Indian Hill 89 to 78.  Mariemont is 3rd with 61.5 points.  Complete results are under the All Sports Trophy link at the top of the page.

As we update the winter sports, its hard to believe that baseball, softball, & lacrosse started their spring practices this week.

View Older News Articles in the News Archive