Maderia Boys Regional Champs, Wyoming Girls Runner-Up, Four Individual Runners Going To State


The CHL will be represented at the state cross country championships with 2 teams and 4 individual runners.  The top four teams in each race and any runner in the top 16 not on those teams qualify for the state meet.

In the Girls Division II races, Wyoming was runner-up with 94 points.  Junior Riley Bahr led the way for the Cowboys finishing 6th out of 99 runners in 19:36.  Sophomore Tiffany Chen was 11th, freshman Peggy Moore 20th, junior Katy Vanatsky 30th & senior Lily Parker 44th.  Senior Lindsay Stewart & freshman Sylvia Coyle were the 6th & 7th runners for Wyoming.  Mariemont finished 7th.  Sophomore Erin Kelly finished 18th for the Warriors.  She miss qualifying for state by 6 seconds.  Taylor was 9th with junior Hannah Korte their top runner.  Senior Emily Sheard was the top runner for Indian Hill.  In Division III girls, senior Cosette Busch was the top runner for Madeira.

In the Division II boys' race, Madeira continue their steak of first place finishes winning the regional title with a score of 80.  It was 60 points better than 2nd place Eaton.Sophomore Dylan Whitson led the Mustangs with a 8th place finish in 16:44.  Sophomore Diego Arredondo was 12th, sophomore Ben Ramos 21st, senior Chet Dobson 26th, junior Joseph Kirby 37th.  Seniors David Grimm & Spenser Cox were the 6th & 7th runners for Madeira.Indian Hill was 6th.  Junior Ben Bayless qualified for state with a 7th place finish (16:43).  Wyoming was 11th.  Junior Jack Schwartz is a state qualifier finishing 14th.  Taylor only had two runners at the meet but made the most of it.  Senior Nick Fox was 3rd out of 103 runners in 16:20.  Joining him at state is sophomore teammate Nick Lake who was 5th in 16:36.  Nolan Buck was the top Mariemont runner.

The State Cross Country Championships will be on Saturday, November 4 at National Trail Raceway.  It is located in Hebron about 20 miles east of Columbus on I-70.  Division II girls will run at 11:45 and Division II boys at 2:15.