Indian Hill & Mariemont Lacrosse Playing For State Titles


As you the OHSAA is having their first ever state sanctioned lacrosse championships.  And two CHL teams have a chance for history in being the first ever OHSAA Division II lacrosse champions. 

In the girls' state semi final game Indian Hill edged Walsh Jesuit 13-12.  Robin Schmacher had 5 goals & Ellie Rabenold added 4 more goals.  The Braves (21-1) have won 15 in a row.  Indian Hill, the top D2 team in the power ranks, will take on Chagrin Falls in the state finals.  Before this season, lacrosse had a state tourney sponsored by the coach's association.  Indian Hill was runner-up in 2014.

Brad Quick scored a goal in the 4th period which turned out to be the winning one as Mariemont down Bishop Watterson 6-5 in the state semi-final game.  The Warriors have also been given a chance to make history as the first OHSAA boys' Division II lacrosse champ.  They will take on Toledo St. Francis de Sales (18-5).  Before this season, Mariemont has done well in the state tourney sponsored by the coach's association.  They have made the state finals seven times including four of the last five years.  The Warriors have been state champs three times in 2007, 2013 & 2014.

The lacrosse state championships will take place Saturday at Selby Stadium on the campus of Ohio Wesleyan in Delaware north of Columbus.  Indian Hill & Chargin will play for the girls' title at 10:00 am.  Mariemont & St. Francis deSales will play for the boys' title at 1:00.